Kind words

from very unbored

newlyweds, guests, and vendors!

“Mark exceeded our expectations!  He was funny, approachable, professional, and overall just a pleasure to work with.  We loved hearing our story and so did our family and friends.  Almost everyone asked us who he was and how we chose him – including our photographers. Our photographers said ours was the best wedding ceremony they have ever seen.

Thank you especially Mark for making our day unique and unforgettable!  We will be recommending you to anyone and everyone we know!!” Brianna

August 2016

“Mark Groleau was our officiant for our wedding at Steamwistle in Toronto in September, and simply put he was incredible. Our meetings with him were direct, comfortable, and honest. We had a non-religious ceremony and after our initial discussions he was able to identify the exact correct tone for us. We were so happy with the way it turned out: it felt honest, personal, as if we had been friends with him for years. We couldn’t have imagined it being better, and that’s a huge testament to him and the work he did. Now this was our wedding day, so we were obviously biased as to its overall success, but we weren’t the only ones who felt that way: in almost every single recounting of the wedding by friends and family Mark was mentioned as standing out, something that made the day as great as it was and above and beyond a ‘normal’ wedding.

We highly recommend Mark. He is awesome!!!” Steve & Ashley

September 2015

“Mark Groleau was absolutely amazing! He was incredibly professional and he was such an amazing addition to our day. He made the ceremony. He was a huge hit with all the guests and everyone wanted to know about him! We 100% recommend Mark. You will be thrilled and so will your guests.” Courtney & Ruairi

December 2015

“My husband and I got married on August 6th, 2016. We chose Mark Groleau to be our officiant. We were extremely happy with this decision! Choosing an officiant is a very important step when planning a wedding. As my husband and I are not religious, we really wanted an officiant who was personal, understood us, and made our ceremony very special. Mark was very easy to get along with, professional and courteous. We met a few times before the wedding to get organized and for Mark to learn our story. He made the actual ceremony very touching and personal by actually writing about us vs. reading anything general that could be applied to anyone. We recommend Mark to anyone. We honestly couldn’t picture anyone else marrying us!” Bianca

August 2016

“Best ceremony ever. Highly recommend Mark. He made the ceremony very interesting and personal. We received a lot of compliments from the guests as well.” Sahar

August 2016

“To make this easier for us to write out, I’ve listed the ways you were awesome:

1) You were so accommodating when we were waiting for a few people who were running late that we really wanted to be there before we got started.
2) You helped to calm me down when I was feeling very anxious before the ceremony started.
3) You delivered an extremely personal and touching ceremony that had our family and friends laughing, crying, and completely immersed in the ceremony.
4) You weren’t thrown off by the 100 (not actually 100) fire trucks that decided to crash our pre ceremony.
5) You were very kind and friendly to our friends and family before, during, and after the ceremony.
6) You were HILARIOUS. Excellent delivery of our strange friend’s jokes.
7) You helped us ensure things were set up for an easy transition to signing the documents when we were too overwhelmed to pay attention to our surroundings.
8) You accommodated, very willingly, our unusual wedding requests even though we didn’t follow “the template”.
9) You were very organized during the ceremony planning and made the process very easy on our side, as well as fun.
10) You were the BEST officiant we have ever come across and could not be happier that it was for our wedding.” Amber

September 2016

“You did an amazing job. Everyone commented on how personal and wonderful it was. They thought you knew [Laine & Tyler] for a long time. Thank you for making the day so special.” Donna

Mother-of-the-Bride

“Mark Groleau was wonderful to work with from our first meeting to our wedding day. Our guests all raved about our ceremony; he managed to tell our story such that it was sentimental, lighthearted and entertaining — just what we had hoped for. We will look back on it and smile for years to come, and hope to see him at some of our friends’ weddings in the future (they are definitely all asking who did the ceremony!)” Sarah

October 2016

Our entire experience was honestly amazing! My brother had used Mark as their officiant in the summer and he did such an incredible job, we booked him shortly after. He was a dream to work with, easy to get a hold of, took the time to understand our relationship and our wants for the ceremony. Everyone at the wedding loved the ceremony and we got so many compliments. People also loved hearing our story, as there are pieces of it not everyone would know. He was great! Caitlin

April 2017

“We are 100% satisfied with Mark’s service. He was original, professional and made the moment extra special for both of us. He created such an amazing story with all the information from our family and friends that guests actually thought we have known each other for years. He goes above and beyond with his service that it was really an unboring wedding!” Alex

September 2017

“Thank you for making our day so very special. You truly are an artist of your craft.

Love,” Caitlin & Justin

June 2017

“Andrew and I just wanted to send you a message to thank you again for everything yesterday. We absolutely loved the ceremony and you ensured everything ran smoothly from start to finish. Our story had the perfect amount of humour, was personal and captured who we are as a couple. Throughout the rest of the night, guests couldn’t stop raving about the ceremony and numerous people asked me if you were a long-time friend of ours. Many people said that our ceremony was unique and how a ceremony should be, reflecting us as a couple and so fitting to who we are.
We both think that the story-telling format you used was what made the ceremony so special, and everyone learned something new about us or some side of our story that they hadn’t heard before. The questionnaire you use is a really effective way of getting good material from people, and it’s obvious that the amount of time you spend personalizing everything for us pays off in the final product.
We will also be recommending you to everyone we know. Again, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for helping to make our wedding an absolutely amazing day.”
Melanie & Andrew

May 2017

“I found Mark through a video online when searching for the perfect videographer. The video started with beautiful scenery and this voice over of their ceremony. It was Mark, telling the beautiful story of this couple. By the time the video ended I felt like I not only knew everything about this new couple, from how they met, to what they loved most about each other, but that I had found our officiant. I remember excitedly running to my fiancé to show him the video in the next room, saying look at this guy! We sent mark an email that night, and first thing the next morning we heard back from him saying he was available. From the emails I knew Mark would be great, but once we met it was like he was meant to marry us! I honestly couldn’t imagine anyone else doing this for us. Our guests are still talking about our ceremony! We even got a ceremony edit from our videographers so we can have our own story forever. Mark is worth every penny- I recommend him to everyone; people who are looking, people who ask, and even some that don’t! If you go with Mark you will NOT regret it, but if you don’t I bet you might 😉

Thank you so much Mark, for not only being such a huge part of our day, but for starting our life together as husband and wife in such a unique, personal way that was truly us!”

Alicia & James

October 2017

“Mark was absolutely amazing as our officiant! We had numerous friends and family come and ask us why they’ve never met him before because they assumed he was a close friend. His telling of our story was perfect – our faces hurt from smiling so much.

Mark set the perfect tone for our day and it wouldn’t have been the same without him. Thanks!!” Brodie

November 2017

“Mark was one of the biggest highlights of our wedding. The story he told as part of our ceremony was incredible and all of our guests said it was one of the best they’ve ever heard. He was also a pleasure to work with in the run up to the wedding!” Ian

January 2018

“I was Sandra’s MOH yesterday and I just have to say that you were absolutely incredible! You are the best officiant I have ever witnessed through attending and standing up in multiple weddings! You made Sandra and Steve’s ceremony so unique, personable and special. I heard amazing feedback from so many friends and family members throughout the night! Thank you for everything!” Lauren

Maid of Honour

“Stop! Just stop the frustrating search for the perfect officiant. You’ve found him. Me and my lovely wife can’t say enough about Mark and it’s not just us! Right behind people raving about the band and food, on an evening where both were epic and amazing, were heaps of praise for our officiant. People flat out said that it was the best ceremony they had ever attended, many of them!

Our experience with Unboring! was beyond stellar. Mark is thoughtful and very personalized in his approach. In an industry where convention seems a given and ceremonies tend to lull and become …well boring, Mark delivered our story with a genuine, enthusiastic and humorous manner that had everybody listening. Our experience was easy, enjoyable and extremely thorough. He guided us from idea to actualizing our vision for the perfect ceremony. Never pushy but subtly suggestive, he doesn’t assume instead he absorbs your vibrations and mirrors them through his expertise until your ideal is met. The rehearsal prior was seamless and speedy, considering we had a 20 person bridal party!

The day of the ceremony, Mark delivered our love story and it was absolutely beautiful. Intimate yet entertaining. Some tears, some laughs and all love. Mark was indeed the master of our ceremony. Thanks again for the attention to detail and making us feel as special as one should on the biggest day of their lives. Cheers :)” Annette & Brian

May 2018

“We feel so blessed that we were connected with Mark, based on a referral as his ceremony was the reason our day was so special. Without hesitation we would recommend Mark for a personalized, special but appropriate ceremony for all guests. We knew he would be great after our initial consultation but he really made our day perfect and unforgettable. He develops rapport quickly with people, is open, makes helpful suggestions, pays attention to detail, ran a great rehearsal, was punctual and just an overall great guy. Our guests have all commented on how wonderful he was and how much they loved the ceremony.” Jennifer

June 2018

My husband and I knew we were picking the right officiant for our wedding after our very first meeting. Mark was friendly and engaging, and you could tell that he enjoys his craft.

Mark was a pleasure to work with in the lead up to our wedding – he is a great communicator, prompt at responding to any messages or emails, flexible, thoughtful, and easy to get along with – and we appreciated both his professionalism and sense of humour.

On the day of our wedding, Mark was calm and professional; in particular, he did a great job of making sure we were both relaxed before the ceremony began and setting a good tone for the room during the ceremony itself. Afterwards we received a lot of fantastic feedback from our guests, saying how much they enjoyed our ceremony.

One of my favourite memories of our ceremony is looking at my husband and over at our guests, and watching them smile and laugh as Mark told our love story.

We would both highly recommend Mark to any couple looking for a personalised, professional, and unboring! wedding ceremony.”

Sarah

June 2018

Mark was beyond excellent. My wife and myself filled out a small questionnaire provided by him, and Mark weaved our answers into a tale of our love for each other. Mark kept our friends and family captivated through the whole ceremony. Mark made the whole experience less stressful and we were able to laugh, smile and have fun.

He was very professional and kept us up-to-date with any changes. He was very accommodating, adapting to the weather for our rehearsal and came straight to our house, instead of the venue, to practice our ceremony. Mark even typed up our vows and placed them in a plastic sheet. He crossed his T’s and dotted his lower case “j’s”, making my our special day even more perfect.”

Matt

July 2018

Mark officiated our wedding on August 11, 2018. When searching for the perfect officiant for our wedding, I came across Mark’s website, and after reading all of the reviews, it sounded like he would be the perfect fit for what we wanted in our ceremony. Relaxed, inclusive, and setting a tone that everyone felt was fun, celebratory and extreme personal. I am SO glad we chose Mark, because he was absolutely INCREDIBLE!!

He set the tone for the rest of the evening, and helped to make our day a dream come true! Everyone left saying it was the best ceremony they have ever been to. Almost everyone commented on how much laughter there was throughout the ceremony, and how personal and intimate the ceremony was. People were asking me if he was a family member of ours.

Do not think twice about booking Mark for your special day! You will 100% not regret!! His personalized ceremonies set the tone for the evening, and is something we will never ever forget. Thank you doesn’t seem like enough! THANK YOU THANK YOU for making our day unforgettable!!!”

Rebecca

August 2018

“Mark is an absolute pro and a joy to be around. We had the best wedding ceremony ever! How do we know? Because everybody told us so! We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Mark to anybody. He is a great listener, flexible, kind, and a talented speaker. Thanks Mark!”
Trevor and Jennifer

May 2017

“We were so happy with Mark as our celebrant. We got so many compliments from our guests about the ceremony. It was important to us to have a very personalized and custom ceremony, and Mark did just that. I’m expecting that my friends with upcoming weddings will try to book Mark for themselves! Mark was one of our favourite vendors, and the ceremony was one of the best parts of our day.”
Alisha and Tony

October 2017

“Mark was perfect for our wedding ceremony. Mark performed a non-denominational service, and took time to get to know us and explain the ceremony to us (made sure we were comfortable). Mark received great compliments from our guests (best ceremony ever was not an exaggeration). Other vendors and guests asked for his contact information. In fact, one guest hired him for an upcoming wedding in 2017!” Sean

August 2016

“Our officiant Mark was a dream to work with. My husband and I come from two completely different backgrounds/cultures/faiths, and we wanted to craft our ceremony in such a way that it could encompass both of our traditions and values. Mark went through everything with us and made the process so easy. He was organized, helpful, and most of all very patient. The speech he crafted for us was so beautiful, and his personality was so warm and welcoming that our guests still can’t stop talking about our beautiful ceremony!” Sherry & Jeffrey

October 2015

“Just wanted to drop you a quick message to say thank very much for Friday. It was the best day of our lives and we thank you for being a huge part of it. So many people complimented the ceremony. It was brilliant.” Ciaran

August 2016

“I would just like to say how amazing Mark was on Friday at the wedding for S&T.  He was absolutely hilarious in such a tasteful way.  All the guests thoroughly enjoyed his service.  S&T had only great things to say about him. I give him a 10 out of 10!” Christina

Lead Planner, Stealing Cinderella Planning and Events

“I have never been so sincere in writing a review for any service I have used. We are so beyond thankful and appreciative of the amazing, amazing, amazing ceremony Mark Groleau put together for us! It was so perfect and so truly captured the essence of our relationship. Every single one of our guests said that he was the best officiant that they had ever experienced and it was the most intimate and sincere wedding they had ever been to. His patience with the kids, his sense of humour, his focus on our love and sincere words made all the difference. It is something we will never, ever forget!” Kate

July 2015

“We can’t thank Mark Groleau enough. We met him and within 2 minutes I knew we had found our wedding officiant. He was SO easy and fun to work with, we knew our wedding ceremony was going to be so unique, fun and meaningful, that’s what we wanted and that’s exactly what we got. Our ceremony truly described our relationship and it was so special, it was definitely one of our favourite things about our wedding day. After our ceremony, so many of our guests told us that they had never seen a ceremony like ours, everyone absolutely LOVED it and thought it was the greatest ceremony they had ever seen at a wedding. We will never, ever forget our ceremony and the amazing story that Mark put together for us, we are truly so grateful for everything that he did and we can’t wait to recommend him to all future couples tying the knot!” Dan & Katie

June 2016

“Mark was a big part in making our day special and unforgettable! The story he read about how we met and we how came to be getting married was so representative of who we are, and it was fun to be surprised by what he was going to say. So many of our guests told us that he was the best officiant they have ever seen at a wedding! Thank you Mark!!” Brianna

August 2016

“We chose Mark Groleau from Toronto to be our officiant and he helped us create a casual ceremony the way we envisioned: full of love and laughter, enjoyable for guests, not a typical script, and laid back.

We were smiling throughout the ceremony, his words were a perfect reflection of how we feel for each other. We wanted to be surrounded by our closest family and friends and Mark’s friendly and positive personality made it feel as if we had known him for years. Many guests said the ceremony was one of the best they have experienced.

Mark corresponded with us multiple times by email before the ceremony to answer all of our questions. We also met with him a couple of times before the wedding day to get to know the person who would marry us and describe our vision for the day. We were married on Toronto Island and Mark had no problem coming over on the ferry for a rehearsal ceremony the day before and help us work though wedding day logistics.

When we look back on our day, the ceremony is by far one of our most memorable parts; it really was the heart of the day.” Ashley

August 2016

“We were lucky enough to have Mark Groleau as our wedding officiant, who proved to be everything we were hoping for in that capacity. From the beginning he was kind, relaxed, organized, and open-minded, with a great sense of humour. His address during our ceremony was very professional and tailored entirely to us. Our guests are still talking about him. Highly recommended.” Jeff

March 2016

“Thanks so much for everything this past Friday!

Marla & Mike and all the guests could not stop raving about their ceremony and how special and memorable it felt to them! You did a fantastic job wish I could work with you more often! I will definitely be referring clients your way for all the properties we work in.
Thank You for everything!”
Jessica Pompeo

Lead Planner, J.S.P. Industries

“Mark was absolutely fantastic! We researched quite a few officiants and had a few telephone interviews before we found Mark. He instantly made us feel comfortable and at ease and we felt that he just ‘got’ us. He was extremely professional and took the time to outline his services and how he would be telling ‘Our Story’.

Closer to the date of the wedding he met us for coffee and we left feeling SO amazing about our day because of him. Mark is funny, warm, welcoming and well spoken. He really got to know us as a couple and even sent out a questionnaire to some of our friends to make our ceremony a truly intimate and amazing moment. He was available for our rehearsal and stayed longer that he had to without complaint due to many late family members.

I can truly say the ceremony was the most beautiful part of our wedding and we truly have Mark to thank for that. We received so many compliments after the ceremony. Thanks so much for making our day magical and so so very intimate.” Marla & Michael

August 2017

“If we had I to write a 100 page essay about how awesome Mark is, it would probably end up being 200 pages; however, to keep it simple, we would describe him as friendly, professional, incredible, hilarious, charming, accommodating, amazing, witty, joyful – shall we go on?

We were SO pleased with everything from our first meeting to our ceremony. He put together the most unique, personal, and certainly unboring ceremony that had our guests (and ourselves) laughing, crying, and cheering! To this day, our guests still rave about our ceremony and how great Mark was!” Gloria & Clinton

May 2017

“Thank you so much for being a part of our wedding!

You made everything run so smoothly. Words cannot express how happy we both were with our ceremony. Mark, you helped us make our ceremony fun, sentimental and personable. We received tons of compliments on our ceremony on how you told our story and made it fun. Our guests were impressed by your words and how everything went so perfectly.

We couldn’t have asked for a better officiant! Highly recommended. Thanks again Mark!” Jennifer & Martin

November 2017

“Mark was worth every single penny! We can’t thank him enough, he made our special day EXACTLY what we wanted. The entire crowd was laughing, it was so personal that all of our guests had assumed Mark was a close friend of ours. OVER THE TOP happy!! Unboring Wedding lives up to its name and then some! 13/10 :)” Maddie & Jon

October 2017

“Mark from Unboring!Wedding was just what we were looking for in an officiant. We wanted our ceremony to be light and funny – and not dragged out. He was the perfect fit, and our guests raved about it. We definitely recommend Mark!” Gina & Chris

April 2018

“Coming from someone that has been part of the wedding industry for over a decade. Mark is simply the best of the best. Jeremy Robertson

Founder, Naturally Captured Wedding Photography & Videography

“Mark was phenomenal. Very professional, made everyone at at ease and laugh. Also very organized and made sure we had everything necessary for the ceremony to run smoothly. I was hesitant at first because of the higher cost and do not have one regret! Many compliments on the ceremony throughout the evening from guests. Can’t recommend enough!” Kirstin

May 2018

“Initially the ceremony wasn’t something I was looking forward to….until we stumbled across Mark’s approach, and knew he was a great fit for making the day super special for us! The ceremony ended up being my most favourite part of the whole day, and Mark’s delivery of our story was awesome, and extremely special. Thanks Mark for everything, a true professional, and the ceremony was everything and more than we could have hoped for. The best!” Katie

June 2018

“My husband and I hired Mark to officiate our wedding on June 17, 2018. Mark did such an incredible and beautiful job telling our story to all our guests. Thank you Mark for playing such a big role on our big day, we were BEYOND happy and received so many compliments about our officiant afterwards! Highly recommended as Mark is truly the best officiant out there.” Natalie & Alex

June 2018

Mark from Unboring!Wedding was amazing. He made our day so incredibly special that our guests are still talking about him. We would absolutely recommend him to anyone. He was professional and interesting in his delivery of our story. We are so beyond thrilled. If you want an amazing ceremony choose Mark. Thank you again Mark!!”

Carson

June 2018

“Mark married my husband and I this past July. Our guests raved about how it was the BEST ceremony they have ever been to. Everyone was laughing, crying and really engaged the entire ceremony.

Mark customized the ceremony so instead of reading the same old script most officiants used, it was a one of a kind ceremony customized for my husband and I. He really was worth every penny and I would 100% recommend him.”

Yvonne

July 2018

“My husband and I are still so over the moon about the amazing ceremony we had for our big day.

I think every single guest came up to us at one point to tell us that the ceremony is the best ceremony they have ever been to. Everyone was so engaged and excited about what Mark had to say.

The entire process was so organized, making it one less thing to worry about while planning. Mark is so engaging and genuinely excited to help make the day unforgettable.

Our photographers said it was incredible to get all of the candid reactions from our guests!

I could go on and on about how amazing our experience was. Weddings should be fun and exciting. Ours definitely was! We are so thrilled.

Mark 100% set the tone for the day – starting off with an ‘Unboring wedding’ is the ONLY way to go!!”

Julie

July 2018

“We don’t even know where to begin…Mark is AMAZING! 10 out of 10 would recommend! All of our wedding guests could not stop raving about our ceremony, and telling us it was the best ceremony they have ever seen!

Mark is extremely friendly and personable, he made us feel super relaxed and at ease, even in times of stress! His writing is so beautiful and we loved how he shared our love story…it was just amazing!!! Thank you a million times Mark, for making our wedding ceremony one to remember!”

Nicolette

August 2018

“Mark’s script blew us and all of our guests away. It was such a joy standing up there looking in each other’s eyes and hearing Mark read through our story. It is remarkable how amazing he is at making the story personal, funny and endearing, and entertaining for the guests. We can’t count how many times our guests made a point to tell us it was the best ceremony they’ve ever been a part of.

We can’t thank Mark nearly enough for working with us. It was the most special and significant part of the day and he really nailed it!”

Jenna

September 2018